2014 Sociology Department Awards

On May 9th, the Sociology Department held its annual graduation ceremony to honor students who have received departmental awards and scholarships. Hailey Neubauer, Jackson Oldham, and Marie Rempe received an Academic Excellence Award in Sociology. Hailey Neubauer also received an Outstanding Sociology Research Award, and Ashley Corral received the Outstanding Community Service Award. Jackson Oldham received the Sociology Alumni Scholarship, and Joseph Clanton received the David T. Wright Memorial Scholarship. Ami Stearns received the Outstanding PhD Student Award, and Melissa Jones received the Outstanding MA Student Award.

Undergraduate Award and Scholarship Recipients

Susan Sharp with Joseph Clanton
David T. Wright Memorial Scholarship


Ashley Corral with Ann Beutel
Outstanding Community Service Award 


Hailey Neubauer with Ann Beutel
Academic Excellence in Sociology Award and the
Outstanding Sociology Research Award


Susan Sharp with Jackson Oldham
Academic Excellence in Sociology with an
Emphasis in Criminology
Award and the
Sociology Alumni Scholarship


Amy Kroska with Marie Rempe
Academic Excellence in Sociology Award 


Graduate Award Recipients

Melissa Jones with Susan Sharp
Outstanding MA Sociology Student


Ami Stearns with Susan Sharp
Outstanding Sociology Doctoral Student